Freshly Served.

This post is supposed to answer the who’s and why’s and how’s of this whole blog. But I’ve never been good at introductions, so I’ll just randomly write stuff here and you, dear reader, would have to take it from there.  😉

—-

I used to write a lot. When I say a lot, I mean to say that I was one of those (weird?) guys who are never without anything to write on; notebooks, scraps of paper, the blank back pages of my text books, you name it.  I kept journals ever since high school and moved on to blogs when they became available. I kept several blogs (which are now defunct, thank God, because reading them still makes me cringe) and I used to write about everything and anything that ever occurred in what I hoped wasn’t a mundane existence.

“And then what happened? Why the past tense? Do you not write anymore?” you ask. I guess LIFE happened. I grew up. I began to write less and less. I can’t really say that it was due to the lack of inspiration, because God knows my life hasn’t been boring. I can say that when I was younger, everything that happened to me seemed bigger than life and I had to keep track of them or else I’d lose them. And being a teenager with heightened emotions, it helped to have a way to explore those said emotions in writing. Plus, it didn’t hurt that it looked cool, writing in some corner, added to the whole tortured-artist-geek-badboy feel I was aiming for when I was a kid. 😉

To be honest, I also find it hard to write when I’m coasting (in life in general). I find myself more eager to write when I’m in the pits or when I’m extremely happy. And I now know the danger of this, of not coaxing myself into writing, even if I don’t feel like doing it. Like any skill or talent (well, I guess this is a talent, yeah? I don’t mean this in a bragging way), if you don’t use it, you’ll end up rusty.

So this is a reinvention of sorts. I have gone through several reboots and I’m hoping that this time, it will last.

Leave a Reply

