For in that sleep of death, what dreams may come.

dream

Terror is too strong a word to describe how I sometimes feel when going to sleep alone. Dread best describes the emotion. A mounting, suffocating dread that becomes stronger and stronger as I become sleepier and sleepier.

Lately, I’ve been having trouble sleeping. This only happens when I sleep alone, which, thankfully, is rare, because the boy usually sleeps at my place before he goes to work. It started just a few weeks ago. I remember waking up feeling like someone was watching me. I sat up on my bed, my heart beating fast, and listened. For what seemed like a long time, I couldn’t hear ANYTHING. And just as suddenly, the sound rushed back in a wave. When I checked the time, it was almost 3AM.

Okay, so I might be paranoid because I saw that f*cking scary movie about the exorcism and stuff. I don’t know where this sh*t is coming from. I’ve never had trouble sleeping before.  But it’s terrible. Now, I sleep with the lights and the windows closed.

Praying has definitely helped. I’m not sure if this is a sign for me to go back to church or something. I do know that I haven’t been praying as often as I did before. And when I say praying, I mean, just talking to God, really, about how my day went and being thankful for the people around me.

Does anyone have any advice for me? Seriously considering sleeping pills now. 😦

12 thoughts on “For in that sleep of death, what dreams may come.

  1. When I was a kid, I also have trouble sleeping. But now I am used to sleeping alone, in the dark, and with the windows open. 🙂 What I just do every night is that I pray and just talk to God about your worries. It really helps.

    Also, consider writing down whatever that bothers you. All your fears, worries, pressures, stress. Everything. Write it down and be honest. Somehow being able to release your tension before sleeping lets you relax. It clears your mind. Hope this helps. 🙂

  2. I agree with Adrian. It’s a cliche, but really, prayer does wonders at times like this. And staying away from horror films^_^ but i think the fear is gonna go away in time once the effects of that scary movie wears out.

    The last time i felt like this — i was even close to paranoia — was after watching a gory film similar to Saw and Hills Have Eyes. i was getting crazy thinking there’s a following madman everywhere i go. 😦

  3. Maybe read a chapter or two of the Bible, especially those boring Old Testament parts. Haha! But seriously, I’ve tried making praying and Bible reading a habit before I sleep (hard, I know) and it helped. Also, keep to a schedule when you sleep and wake up. Sounds like advice from an old lady but it helped me fight insomnia. 🙂

  4. I experienced way worst than that and for a while I linked it to some superstitious beliefs. I researched about it and it seems to appear, I was having sleep paralysis. I even blogged about it, made a dream anthology as one of my blog’s pages.

    Try researching about the different “sleep troubles” and you might find a match to your situation. Since I learned about mine, I got empowered and never had any major sleep trouble for a while now. 😉

Leave a Reply

